THE LAST OF THE SPIRITS BY CHRIS PRIESTLEY SIGNED DOODLED RARE FIRST EDITION 1 OF 1

Stock Status: In Stock
Condition: New
£34.99

Details

  • Description
  • Product Reviews
  • Delivery & Returns
Now from the publishers of Harry Potter you can collect a brilliant new book called The Last of the Spirits by Chris Priestley. Each rare first edition has been signed, lined, dated and doodled – at the author’s home!
  

The story starts with Sam and Lizzie that are freezing and hungry on the streets of Victorian London. When Sam asks a wealthy man for some coins, he is rudely turned away. Months of struggle suddenly find their focus, and Sam resolves to kill the man. Huddling in a graveyard for warmth, Sam and Lizzie are horrified to see the earth around one of the tombs begin to shift, shortly followed by the wraithlike figure of a ghostly man. He warns Sam about the future which awaits such a bitter heart, and so begins Sam's journey led by terrifying spirits through the past, present and future, after which Sam must decide whether to take the man, Scrooge's, life or not.
A perfectly layered, tense and supremely satisfying twist on one of Dickens' most popular books, cleverly reinvented to entice a younger readership.
  
   
Reviews

Praise for Mister Creecher:
A brilliant counterpoint to Frankenstein, compellingly written. Chris Priestley goes from strength to strength
(Chris Riddell)

A dark, moving, creepy, funny tale about the making of a famous monster . . . only not the one you think it'll be. Splendid gothic stuff (Kim Newman, author of Nightmare Movies)

Praise for the Tales of Terror books: A wonderfully nightmarish journey of the imagination – old-fashioned storytelling at its best. (Daily Mail)

The gradual build-up of horror . . . is exquisitely done. My insides were still untangling themselves hours after I had closed the book (Sunday Telegraph)

Praise for The Dead of Winter: Deliciously creepy with lots of twists and turns to keep young readers on edge (Daily Mail)


Book Description
A masterful, genius twist on a perennial classic . . . Step into the world of 'parallel' Dickens and be transported by a tense, gripping story of greed, revenge and the ghosts of past, present and future.
About the Author
Chris Priestley lives in Cambridge with his wife and son. His novels are brilliantly original additions to a long tradition of horror stories by authors such as M.R. James and Edgar Allan Poe.
Chris wrote one of the World Book Day books for 2011 and has been shortlisted for a variety of prestigious children's book awards.

  
Biography

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.
 
Product details
  • First Edition First Printing
  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens (6 Nov 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1408854139
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408854136
  • Product Dimensions: 13.4 x 2 x 20.5 cm
 
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
Be the first to review this product.