Stock Status: Out of Stock
Condition: New
Sorry Out of Stock


  • Description
  • Product Reviews
  • Delivery & Returns
From the astonishing imagination of Django Wexler comes a captivating debut adventure story. It’s completely enchanting with all the ingredients of the classics of the genre, but told in a distinctive new voice.  And it includes stunning full-page illustrations by David Wyatt. This book is part of a brand new series and is definitely one to watch!
Commissioning editor Lauren Buckland bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Caspian Dennis of Abner Stein in a three-book fantasy adventure series by Wexler. Caspian made the deal on behalf of Seth Fishman at the Gernert Company. And RHCP have now published The Forbidden Library, the first book, this year.
The book follows Alice after she is orphaned by her father's strange and mysterious death, as she searches for the truth. Entering a forbidden library in her house, she discovers she is a Reader—able to enter new worlds through the special books-though she must defeat magical beings to escape them.
Buckland said: "The first book is completely captivating and commercial, with all the ingredients of the classics of the genre, but told in a distinctive new voices. Fans of Lewis Carroll, C. S. Lewis and Michael Ende's The Neverending Story are going to love curling up on the sofa and getting lost in this book."
Django has exclusively signed, lined, dated and numbered rare first editions at his home in the US. And yes these are the true first impressions as the US edition was released a few days later. So start your collection now!
About the book
Imagine a world...
Where cats can talk;
Where fairies are snarling bald beasts with needle-like teeth;
Where a huge, dark library hides secrets in its shadows;
And dangerous creatures prowl the pages of books...
Dare you join Alice on her quest to find a happy ending?
About the Author
Django Wexler graduated Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. Eventually he migrated to Microsoft and Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts.
"Alice has a minder named Ashes which is this talking, feisty cat. There’s a dragon. There’s a Swarm. If you want magic, you’ve got it right in this book. If you’ve got a kid with a big imagination, hand them a copy of The Forbidden Library for a spring present." - April at Good Books and Good Wine
"Perhaps my favorite part of this story is Alice herself. Alice is a rather intelligent and practical girl who doesn’t intend to lie about when things go wrong, and has a pragmatic air of acceptance of things that just makes her fun to read. Rather than be utterly astonished by the existence of the magical and mystical world, or attempting to deny it, this self-possessed young lady calmly reconsiders her world view and soldiers on. ... A clever, self-sufficient heroine is a very enjoyable thing to read. My other personal delight is the cat. How can you not enjoy a cat named Ashes-Drifting-Through-The-Dead-Cities-of-the-World, (for short, Ashes). These things quickly made this more than your run of the mill fantasy story and fantasy heroine." - Stephanie at Views From The Tesseract
"I thoroughly enjoyed The Forbidden Library. It's rich and dense and creative. Alice is a great - and stubborn! - heroine and the supporting cast is delicious. It serves up a great mix of the expected tropes and settings offered by middle grade fantasy but it also subverts some so it feels fresh and new. I'm looking forward to book two." - Jill at The Bookbag
"...this is a great debut book as part of a fantastic new series that could hold epic status. Captivating, thoroughly enjoyable and a very entertaining read, I would definitely recommend this book as a read for everyone. The splendid illustrations add to the great storyline and create a fantasy gem." - Vincent at Mr. Ripley's Book Review
"The author's writing style is wonderful. An ability to create detailed, imaginative worlds within worlds. Giving us a great storyline filled with adventure to keep us turning the pages. A book both appealing to 10 years+, even adults. A beautiful book I am sure most of you would love to read this with your children." - Kimmy at Opinionated Cupcakes
"The author’s comments state that the book started as ‘something of a lark’, a change from his usual epic fantasy. It’s an experiment that’s truly paid off, a refreshing and unique tale – one that rises above the clichés it could so easily have fallen into – that entertains on every level. It’s pitched perfectly to its audience (as well as those who are a few years older...) and, while only time will tell if it becomes a classic, it treats the familiar tropes with care and respect, leaving the reader wanting more after the final page has been turned." - Alister at Starburst Magazine
"I was attracted by the cover, which is a work of art, and as I started to read, I was enthralled... very quickly. My initial reaction was that this owes a little to A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and the SPIDERWICK CHRONICLES, but as I got further into the story, I realised that it owes nothing to either of those series, but possibly finds its origins in the children's adventure stories of a previous century - not Narnia, and not Alice, but something at the back of my mind that I simply can't place, and I have to say, therefore, that it is entirely original. And brilliantly done - this is a package, which means that it is not only a rattlingly brilliant story, it is also a story that's given special treatment in terms of its printing and binding, and to cap it all, it contains superb illustrations by the outstanding David Wyatt, whose talents I am familiar with from his illustrations for Lord of the Rings. This is a brilliant story, and Django Wexler is a name to remember - as if you could forget it!" - Books Monthly Children's Book of the Month, 4/14
"The plot also had enough mystery to keep me constantly guessing; I could never be sure what everybody's motives were. I felt for Alice and her predicament of being suddenly thrust into a strange environment where she couldn't trust anyone, though she was far from helpless and I'm sure she had no need for anyone's sympathy. Courageous and headstrong, Alice is a good role model for young readers, being a take-charge kind of girl who doesn't take obstacles or setbacks lying down." - Mogsy at BiblioSanctum
"I found this one a fun read and it even has a dragon in it. No one is quite what they seem except Alice. She’s going to have a real challenge keeping up and being safe trying to live her with her Uncle. I’m already ready to read the next series of events in her life. She’s not boring." - Long and Short Reviews
"The other day I wrote a lengthy post about my favourite female protagonists in books for young readers, as part of the Boys Read Girls campaign, and after it went live I mentioned to a fellow Tweeter that no doubt I would remember another one the next day. Well I did exactly that - Alice in The Forbidden Libraryis up there with all the female characters that I mentioned in that post (and I may just head over to that post after finishing this review to add her). She is courageous, intelligent, resourceful and inquisitive and the kind of character that will have both boys and girls rooting for her as she fights for her life, and agonising with her as she has to grapple with a number of moral dilemmas that are thrown at her during the course of her adventures." - The Book Zone
"If it isn’t yet obvious I absolutely adored the world building in this book. Django Wexler has created my fantasy getaway. The descriptions made everything come to life, giving the reader a beautiful, stunning and magical bookish paradise. I also adored the variety of characters but Ashes was my absolute favourite." - Luna's Little Library
"The Forbidden Library, as the name might suggest, is bound to be an absolute hit with book-lovers young and old. After all, however scary things get, what could be more exciting than working inside a magical library and being able to dive into books at will? This story focuses, essentially, on the immediacy and magic of a really good book and the sheer breadth of Wexler’s imagination simply flabbergasted me. Besides your traditional themes of good/evil, etc, the usual creatures we find in children’s fantasy (dragons, fairies…) are there, but are a complete departure from the traditional images we have. Particularly the dragon, who under Wexler’s pen becomes rather lumpy and lumbering, rather than the fire-breathing elegance we’re used to." - Literary Relish
"The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler is a great fantasy middle-grade adventure and an exciting start to a new series. The magic system involving books is probably the biggest draw for most of us book lovers, but there is just so much to love! Wexler’s experience with the adult fantasy genre really shows with his creativity and unique characters, and I can’t wait to see where he takes this series." - Anya at On Starships and Dragonwings
"THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY is Django Wexler’s first fantasy novel for children and he knocks it out of the park with an exciting story about the beautiful and dangerous world of a very special library. Wexler’s heroine Alice is the shining heart of this story: a brave and practical young girl who refuses to flinch in the face of difficulty, be it the jaws of a dragon or the presumed death of her father." - Lily at KidsReads
"Wexler’s talent for world-building and evoking a Gothic atmosphere bring this title, first in a series, roaring to life. He doesn’t do anything readers haven’t seen before, but his spin on the familiar aspects makes the material feel new again, and bonus points for the strong, relatable heroine." - Jacki at Storytime Hooligans
"Right off the bat you can see that Alice is a brave girl. Brave and smart and resourceful in many ways. She's kind and a bit naive and probably too smart for her good...but those are all things that I love about Alice. She's the type of protagonist that will have you rooting for her all the way and wishing you were by her side fighting with her, trudging through all her agony and happiness and curiosity. And until the sequel releases I'll just be here, waiting for the day that I can jump right back in with her and keep fighting on!" - Lexi at Lexi Swoons
Product details
  • First Edition First Printing
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday Childrens (10 April 2014)
  • Language: Unknown
  • ISBN-10: 0857532871
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857532879
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 24 cm
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
Be the first to review this product.