THE DEAD OF WINTERBY CHRIS PRIESTLEY RARE DOODLED SIGNED FIRST EDITION BOOK

Stock Status: In Stock
Condition: New
£99.99

Details

  • Description
  • Product Reviews
  • Delivery & Returns

Now you can order The Dead of Winter by Chris Priestley. This is a fabulous book which has been published by Bloomsbury.

Michael Vyner recalls a terrible story, one that happened to him. One that would be unbelievable if it weren't true! Michael's parents are dead and he imagines that he will stay with the kindly lawyer, executor of his parents' will ...Until he is invited to spend Christmas with his guardian in a large and desolate country house. His arrival on the first night suggests something is not quite right when he sees a woman out in the frozen mists, standing alone in the marshes. But little can prepare him for the solitude of the house itself as he is kept from his guardian and finds himself spending the Christmas holiday wandering the silent corridors of the house seeking distraction. But lonely doesn't mean alone, as Michael soon realises that the house and its grounds harbour many secrets, dead and alive, and Michael is set the task of unravelling some of the darkest secrets of all. This is a nail-biting story of hauntings and terror by the master of the genre, Chris Priestley.

Biography

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Review

`Open a Chris Priestley Gothic ghost story and what seeps from the pages, like mist from a desolate marsh, is his sheer love of the genre. This passion not only shapes a gripping story with well-rounded characters, but lifts the level of writing well above similar Victorian chillers . . . Deliciously creepy with lots of twists and turns to keep young readers on edge'
--Daily Mail

`A beautifully paced novella that carries a sting in its tail'
--The Times

`Priestley assembles his plot and possibly psychotic characters with wicked glee, creating a supernatural tale which is aware that revenge is always open-ended. Genuinely frightening, this will make your ghoulish nephews stay up all night'
--Literary Review

`A cracking nineteenth century style ghost story with some wonderful Dickensian characters, a puzzling plot line and revelations on Christmas Day'
--School Librarian

`A gripping, accessible read for 10 to 15-year-olds which I would highly recommend'
--School Librarian

Book Description

Nominated for the Carnegie Award 2012

A boy, a mysterious guardian and a haunted house with a terrible secret . . .

This is a chilling ghost story that will thrill and terrify and get read again and again and again

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (4 Oct. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1408800136
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408800133
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.1 x 19.8 cm

Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!
Be the first to review this product.